Birth Stones & Anniversary Gemstones


It is long-believed that precious and semi-precious gemstones have magical powers. 1,500 years ago Ayurvedic practitioners assigned birthstones to people based upon their signs in the zodiac. In the Western Middle Ages, gemstones were linked to the cycles of the zodiac (based on the Gregorian calendar), and this was similar to the system we are familiar with today. Tiffany & Co. published the list as a marketing tool in 1870 to encourage customers to give jewellery for birthday and anniversary gifts. In 1912, the Association of Jewellers of America produced a new standardized list for the birthstone system which made the stones relatively equal in value.


January – Garnet

February – Amethyst

March – Aquamarine or Bloodstone

April – Diamond

May – Emerald

June – Pearl or Moonstone or Alexandrite

July – Ruby

August – Peridot or Sardonyx (Carnelian)

September – Sapphire or Lapis Lazuli

October – Opal or Pink Tourmaline

November – Topaz or Citrine

December – Zircon or Turquoise


The bestselling author of several books on etiquette, Emily Post, was the first author to publish a list suggesting wedding anniversary gems for important years (in 1922). Since then, the anniversary gemstones list has expanded.

1st Year: Gold Jewellery

2nd Year: Garnet

3rd Year: Pearls

4th Year: Blue Topaz

5th Year: Sapphire

6th Year: Amethyst

7th Year: Onyx

8th Year: Tourmaline

9th Year: Lapis Lazuli

10th Year: Diamond Jewellery

11th Year: Turquoise

12th Year: Jade

13th Year: Citrine

14th Year: Opal

15th Year: Ruby

16th Year: Peridot

17th Year: Watches

18th Year: Cat’s Eye

19th Year: Aquamarine

20th Year: Emerald

21st Year: Lolite

22nd Year: Spinel

23rd Year: Imperial Topaz

24th Year: Tanzanite

25th Year: Silver Jubilee

30th Year: Pearl Jubilee

35th Year: Emerald

40th Year: Ruby

45th Year: Sapphire

50th Year: Gold

55th Year: Alexandrite

60th Year: Diamond

70th Year: Sapphire

80th Year: Ruby